The international community continues to send humanitarian aid to Turkey


The international community continues efforts to send humanitarian aid to Turkey in solidarity with those affected by the earthquake.

In this context, Iraq sent the first aid plane to Turkey through the air bridge established by the Iraqi government.

Haider Majeed, a spokesman for the Iraqi Council of Ministers Secretariat, said that his country had sent an aid plane to Turkey on the instructions of Prime Minister Muhammad Shia al-Sudani.

He added that his country will continue to send aid to the earthquake-affected people in Turkey and Syria at the rate of two planes per day.


In the State of Qatar, the campaign to collect aid continues for the benefit of those affected by the Turkish earthquake.

The campaign has received a great turnout from Qataris and residents of Qatar, who provide their in-kind assistance to the Yunus Emre Cultural Institute or the Turkish School in the capital, Doha, in preparation for sending it to the affected areas.

In Kazakhstan, the Turkish ambassador to Astana, Ufuk Akiji, praised the popular turnout for a campaign to help those affected by the earthquake in Turkey.

He explained that the campaign was able to collect more than $90,000 in donations in just one day.

He pointed out that they will transfer the campaign funds to the bank account of the Presidency of Disaster and Emergency Management “AFAD”.

He added that the embassy sent 17 parcels of humanitarian aid via Turkish Airlines and is in the process of sending 35 parcels today.

At dawn on Monday, a 7.7-magnitude earthquake hit southern Turkey and northern Syria, followed by another hours later with a magnitude of 7.6 and hundreds of violent aftershocks, which left huge losses of lives and property in both countries.

On Tuesday, Erdogan declared a state of emergency for a period of 3 months in 10 states affected by the earthquake in Kahramanmaraş.

The ten states are Adana, Adi Yaman, Diyarbakir, Gaziantep, Hatay, Kahramanmaraş, Kilis, Malatya, Osmaniye and Sanliurfa.