78 leaders participate in Erdogan’s inauguration ceremony


78 prominent international officials plan to participate in the inauguration ceremony of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan for a new term on Saturday in the capital, Ankara, including 21 heads of state, 13 prime ministers and heads of international organizations.

President Erdogan will take the constitutional oath initially in the Turkish parliament at 14:00 (+3 GMT) to officially start his duties in the new state after receiving the inauguration document from the interim speaker of Parliament, Devlet Bahceli.

After his inauguration, Erdogan will visit the mausoleum of the founder of the republic, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, at 15:00, and later at 17:00, he will go to the Presidential Complex to participate in the “start-up” ceremony.


Upon his arrival at the first gate of the compound, the President’s convoy will be joined by the Knights of Protocol unit, and then 101 artillery shells will be fired. At the same time, 101 artillery shells will be fired at the headquarters of the land, air and naval forces.

The Presidential Symphony Orchestra, the Turkish Traditional Music Ensemble and the Military Music Ensemble of the Turkish Armed Forces will participate in the ceremony.

Presidents of 21 countries will participate in the ceremony, including Azerbaijani Ilham Aliyev, Venezuelan Nicolas Maduro, Bulgarian Rumen Radev, Gabonese Ali Bongo Ondimba, Presidents of Guinea-Bissau Omar Sissoko Embalo, South Africa Cyril Ramaphosa, Montenegro Yakov Kilatovic, Kazakhstan Kassim Jumurd Tokayev, Kyrgyzstan Sadr Jabarov and Congolese Danis Sasso.

The ceremony will also be attended by the President of Kosovo, Fyoza Osmani, the President of Turkish Northern Cyprus, Arsene Tatar, North Macedonia, Stevo Pindarovski, Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirzoev and Rwanda Paul Kagame, as well as the Senegalese President Macky Sall, the Somali Hassan Sheikh Mahmoud, the Togolese Faure Isuzimna, the Turkmenistan Serdar Berdi Mohamedov, the Bengali Muhammad Shihabuddin Tshobo and the Guinean Mamady Domboya. .

Prime ministers of 13 countries, including Pakistani Shahbaz Sharif, Hungarian Viktor Orban, Armenian Nicole Pashinyan and Libyan Abdul Hamid al-Dabaiba, will participate in the ceremony.


The ceremony will also be attended by representatives of 8 international organizations, including the general secretaries of the “Turkish states” organizations, Gubanitch Bek Omar Aliyev, NATO, Jens Stoltenberg, and Islamic Cooperation, Hussein Ibrahim Taha.

Also participating in the ceremony are 12 countries at the level of Speakers of Parliament, including the Speaker of the Russian State Duma, Vyacheslav Volodin, and Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress, Ding Zhongli.

President of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina Zelica Cvijanovic, Council members Zeljko Komsic and Denis Beserovic, and Bosnian Serb leader Milorad Dodik will also participate.

Also among the participants will be former German President Christian Wolff, former Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder, former President of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus Dervis Eroglu, former member of the Presidential Council of Bosnia and Herzegovina Bakir Izetbegovic and former Swedish Prime Minister Carl Bildt.

President Erdogan will hold a dinner in honor of his guests at Çangaya Palace at 7:00 pm on Saturday.

President Erdogan is expected to announce the new cabinet after the dinner.