The launch of a meeting between Turkey, Sweden and Finland


At the headquarters of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) in the Belgian capital, Brussels, on Thursday, the fifth meeting of the permanent joint mechanism formed according to the memorandum concluded between Turkey, Sweden and Finland, was launched under the auspices of NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg.

The participating Turkish delegation includes Foreign Minister Hakan Fidan, Head of the Intelligence Service Ibrahim Kalin, Senior Advisor to the President of the Republic, Ambassador Akif Çağatay Kılıç, and Deputy Foreign Minister Burak Agcabar.

The delegation headed by Fidan met with Stoltenberg before the meeting of the permanent joint mechanism.


It is noteworthy that the meeting will review the steps taken by Finland and Sweden in the context of the various dimensions of combating terrorism in accordance with the tripartite memorandum since the previous meeting of the mechanism held in Ankara on June 14, 2023.

Turkey signed a tripartite memorandum with Sweden and Finland regarding the fight against terrorism at the NATO summit in the Spanish capital, Madrid, on June 28, 2022.

Within the framework of the tripartite memorandum, a permanent joint mechanism was formed, which held its first meeting on August 26, 2022, in the Finnish city of Vantaa.