Spain, Ireland and Norway recognize the State of Palestine


Turkey expressed its “great” welcome to the announcement by Spain, Ireland and Norway of recognition of the State of Palestine.

This came in a statement issued by the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Wednesday.

The Foreign Ministry announced in the statement “the great welcome of the announcement by Spain, Ireland, and Norway to recognize the State of Palestine.”

The statement stressed that recognition of Palestine is “a requirement of international law, justice and conscience.”

The statement said: “This is a very important step in terms of restoring the usurped rights of the Palestinian people, and helping Palestine obtain the status it deserves in the international community.”


The statement stressed that Turkey will continue to strive for more countries to recognize Palestine.

Earlier Wednesday, Norway, Ireland and Spain simultaneously announced, in response to a political campaign led by Madrid, officially recognizing the State of Palestine in accordance with international law and relevant Security Council resolutions.

According to the governments of the three countries, the resolution will enter into force on May 28 and grant Palestine all rights and duties as an independent state.

The decision comes more than 8 months after a fierce Israeli war against the Gaza Strip, which resulted in the killing of tens of thousands of civilians, the majority of whom were women and children, in addition to major destruction of infrastructure and main facilities.